JUST ONE LOOK
the purpose of our work is to rid humanity of the fear of life, one person at a time
Just One Look Method Testimonials Getting Help Blog & Podcast Articles Forum Donate Newsletter Books Videos International
Download the free PDF ebook: The Just One Look Method  (314 Kb)
Die Nur-ein-Blick-Methode (439 Kb)
Il Metodo Just One Look (333 Kb)
МЕТОД «ТОЛЬКО ОДИН ВЗГЛЯД» (699 Kb)

Just One Look Forum Archives

Using the Just One Look Method

<<< Back to forum index page

Looking and 'Sitting'

I've been meditating almost daily for thirty-five years and now I do the looking in the context of my daily forty-minute sit. I (usually) find this very satisfying, and looking at myself is the only thing I'm interested in doing during that time. I don't seem to look at myself much at other times, perhaps because the sitting is so intense now that I can't face looking more often.

I have no idea what's going on in my life or what the future holds but that doesn't seem to be a problem. This is weird and new.

So my question is: Am I doing this right? It seems to be working, and also seems to be making my life very uncomfortable right now. I feel like I'm being reorganized internally, especially at night. For a while I was spontaneously falling into the looking at bedtime but stopped letting that happen when it made sleep even more difficult.

I'm definitely attached to meditation practice, and also to intensity. Discomfort is acceptable to me, in a good cause, for a while. I need to feel like I'm 'doing something' to improve my life. But maybe I could stop pushing so hard?

Relax

Hello Wally,