JUST ONE LOOK
the purpose of our work is to rid humanity of the fear of life, one person at a time
Just One Look Method Testimonials Getting Help Blog & Podcast Articles Forum Donate Newsletter Books Videos International
Download the free PDF ebook: The Just One Look Method  (314 Kb)
Die Nur-ein-Blick-Methode (439 Kb)
Il Metodo Just One Look (333 Kb)
МЕТОД «ТОЛЬКО ОДИН ВЗГЛЯД» (699 Kb)

Just One Look Forum Archives

Using the Just One Look Method

<<< Back to forum index page

Is a formal practice needed, at least at first?

I'm new to this Looking at Yourself, although not new to seeking. John's approach just wouldn't have been meaty enough for me before now, so its interesting that I am finding the looking really rich at times and can't leave it alone, although I go through all those thoughts that I'm not doing it right. And at times, it seems impossible to do. And I'm not really sure what I'm looking at/for since passing sensations seem to take up all the space most of the time. But I believe I've had glimpses of ME before even beginning with this method which helps me continue with it.

However, one of my biggest doubts is whether this should be a more formal sitting practice which I have never been very successful with. I love being able to do this at different points in the day informally but I have a bit of a downer about myself because I can't and never have been able to discipline myself into a formal practice, which means to me that I'll never really succeed at this.

So I'm really interested in others' views about formal practice versus informal practice around looking at yourself.