JUST ONE LOOK
the purpose of our work is to rid humanity of the fear of life, one person at a time
Just One Look Method Testimonials Getting Help Blog & Podcast Articles Forum Donate Newsletter Books Videos International
Download the free PDF ebook: The Just One Look Method  (314 Kb)
Die Nur-ein-Blick-Methode (439 Kb)
Il Metodo Just One Look (333 Kb)
МЕТОД «ТОЛЬКО ОДИН ВЗГЛЯД» (699 Kb)

Just One Look Forum Archives

Using the Just One Look Method

<<< Back to forum index page

Looking at me: medicine versus fetish

Dear all, I am very new to this method. I discovered it a week ago, by googling "fear of life", when I was in a crisis. I tried it and felt immediate relief. The feeling of me provided the ground I have been missing, stopping the anxiety, which was sending me down, deeper and deeper. Whenever I repeat the exercise, it helps.

I have been watching the videos from the 2011 retreat. It feels like I finally found the solution, the truth I have relentlessly been seeking all my life. John emphasizes several times that the method is just that, a method, like medicine (John quotes Ramana's image of a stick that gets burned by the fire, step by step) and by itself has no value, nor exposes some desirable state of being or such.

Rather, it would actually be some sort of a trap to fetishize the method. Now, given my impression that I feel immediate relief, did I fall prey of an illusion? Did i fetishize the method?

Looking feels like recognition

Today, when I explained the looking to a friend of mine, I spontaneously used a comparision that I find useful. It feels like recognition of somebody I have always known: me. And I did never age, in all these years, I am fresh and present and true. This fills me with joy and confidence.

This image has a lot of power to me.

Cytex