JUST ONE LOOK
the purpose of our work is to rid humanity of the fear of life, one person at a time
Just One Look Method Testimonials Getting Help Blog & Podcast Articles Forum Donate Newsletter Books Videos International
Download the free PDF ebook: The Just One Look Method  (314 Kb)
Die Nur-ein-Blick-Methode (439 Kb)
Il Metodo Just One Look (333 Kb)
МЕТОД «ТОЛЬКО ОДИН ВЗГЛЯД» (699 Kb)

Just One Look Forum Archives

Using the Just One Look Method

<<< Back to forum index page

I have a question about the Self-Directed Attention exercise.

Hey there folks. Lex Samu here writing in from Queens, NY USA. Well it's been quite a week for me with the SDA exercise. I posted several times over the last couple of days about certain things going on with me recently in recovery. About 3 months ago now I started doing the SDA exercise usually 5x a day for 10 minutes each time. I would say I have been practicing the SDA exercise for around 10 months cumulatively, usually anywhere from 1-3x a day before these 3 months I am speaking of. I thought I would only do the 5x a day thing for 2 or 3 weeks to see what happened, but it seemed like I just fell into this routine, and I was getting these really good glimpses of not having a lot of fear for a certain period of time every few days. But, this week, as I mentioned in another post which I'm not sure got posted yet as I just wrote it last night, I felt like I crossed a kind of threshold where my mind wanted to pay more attention to the breathing, rather than the crazy thoughts running through it --- at least sometimes anyway! At other times, my mind really rebelled against this A LOT! But, now, I feel I am able to apply the instructions about how to use the SDA exercise in daily life with much more success. (This is on pg.13 of J+C's new book). So, in the new book they are saying only do this exercise for 10 minutes at a time, once or twice a day. My question is now about anyone else's experiences in doing this. Now that I am much mo